REVIEW: Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

Heir of Fire

My first review is Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas. I received this book as an ARC at the American Library Association’s annual conference in Las Vegas. I’m going to give you the synopsis from the back of the book, because I am going to try REALLY hard not to give any spoilers.

“Celaena has survived deadly contests and shattering heartbreak – but at an unspeakable cost. Now, she must travel to a new land to confront her darkest truth…a truth about her heritage that could change her life – and her future – forever. Meanwhile, brutal and monstrous forces are gathering on the horizon, intent on enslaving her world. Will Celaena find the strength to not only fight her inner demons, but to take on the evil that is about to be unleashed?”

So, here’s how this is going to work, because I know some people hate reading long reviews. I bold my main points, and if you want to read further, go on ahead. However, if you hate reading, you can get the gist by my bolded points.

1. The new characters introduced are amazing, even if they’re villains.

The new characters are amazing! Manon the Blackbeak witch, Rowan the elf prince, the half-Fae, Queen Maeve, and Sorscha are among my favorites. They are all likeable, even if some of them are villains. What I find amazing is that with these new characters, I found myself rooting for them no matter if they were with Celaena or against her. The character development with these new characters comes leaps and bounds through just one book. It is amazing that even though this is a fantasy series, I can keep all of the characters straight and I can recognize personality traits to the point where I can shake my head at something they’ve done and say, “That’s SO Rowan.” I hope you fall in love with the new characters, too.

2. The female characters are the most bad ass characters in the book.

Do not get me wrong. I do not consider myself a feminist at all. However, through the previous two books (Throne of Glass and Crown of Midnight – read them if you haven’t, they’re amazing) we have seen a lot of the males hold the general power in the books. Throughout this one, though, the women rule supreme. Whether it’s Celaena or Queen Maeve or Manon, the women own this world, regardless of their affinity for either good or evil. I read a lot of books where females are painted as damsels in distress or that the female starts out being a bad ass warrior, only to need the help of the male by her side. (Pink ranger, anyone?) These women don’t need help from ANYONE. They handle their business and they kick ass and take names while they do it.

3. There is no love triangle. No, I’m serious.

Hallelujah!! The thing I hate most about any YA (And I love love love YA. Don’t take this opinion to mean that I hate the genre) is the dreaded love triangle. Admittedly, there was one within the first two books, but they didn’t bother me as much. Celaena needed some type of romance in her life. Her life was so bleak. However, in this one, we are introduced to a new male character – Rowan. The whole book I was convinced a romance would bloom between them. I cannot tell you how happy I am that I was wrong. This book showed that men and women can be friends. Not only can they be friends, they can work together too. Not only can they work together, but they can use their magic to save the WORLD!

4. The length. Oh, sweet glorious gods of Erilea, the length.

This book is 562 pages of unadulterated coolness and action. Usually, long descriptions lose me. With this book, I was able to take the descriptions to paint a picture and not once was I bored. The world of Erilea is so amazingly well built, that I have no issues paying attention to the descriptions of it. I can still see the rivers and countries and seas described so perfectly in my head.

5. The writing is phenomenal.

Sarah J. Maas has given me a new love for fantasy novels. Throne of Glass blew me away. It is not easy for me to get into fantasy universes, but she helped get me involved and made me fall in love with her characters. Even her villains are so evil that I hate them with a rage I don’t think I’ve felt for a literary character since Voldemort. I heard somewhere that Maas started Throne of Glass when she was just 15. Obviously, she’s older now, but I can only imagine how her writing will only improve as well (not that there is any need for improvement). Sometimes, novels this long kind of scare me, but not this. I couldn’t get enough of it. When I closed it, I wished it were longer.

Overall: 5 STARS!!! If I could give it an endless amount of stars, I would, but I’m not really sure that would be an accurate book review portrayal.

http://www.amazon.com/Heir-Fire-Throne-Glass-Sarah/dp/1619630656/ref=tmm_hrd_title_0?ie=UTF8&qid=1404362583&sr=8-1

This book comes into the world on September 2, 2014. Go pre-order!!

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

    • andistrube says:

      Thank you so much and thanks for reading! The first two books are Throne of Glass and Crown of Midnight. There are also I believe 6 novellas and they’ve been released bound all together recently. They’re all so amazing! Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

