Book Review: One Wish Away by Kelley Lynn

One Wish AwayI have many things to say about this, so first, here is the synopsis from Amazon. I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: I am not good at synopses. So, here it is:

Be careful what you wish for…

Lyra has always been ahead of the curve. Top of her class in school, a budding astronomer, and with a best friend like Darren she barely has time to miss the mother who abandoned her family years ago. She’s too busy planning to follow in her father’s footsteps, and to become the youngest astronomer at Space Exploration and Discovery.

When a star goes missing Lyra is determined to get to the bottom of it only to discover her braniac dad is the mastermind of a top-secret government experiment. They promise to build a perfect world, one galaxy at a time, but with every tweak of the present, a bit more of the future starts to crumble.

Lyra has to go undercover to reveal the truth and let humanity decide if the consequences are worth more than wishing on a star.

1. Lyra Altair is my spirit animal.

It is so refreshing to see such a flawed main character. I don’t even think I would go so far as to call her a heroine, but I think she achieves that title by the end of the book. Since it is my goal to NEVER spoil a book for you lovely followers, I won’t tell you why. But Lyra is a nerd. She is a hardcore nerd and she offends people accidentally because of her knowledge. I am the same exact way. She is me, transmitted into a book. At first, I thought I was going to hate her along with her high school peers, but she is so endearing and smart. But, on the other hand she’s also impulsive and courageous. I loved all of these things about her.

2. The family dynamic in this book is weird. Not only Lyra’s but her best friend, Darren’s.

So, Lyra’s dad is a genius. His head is always in the sky, because he is the main researcher at an astronomy facility and the creator of the Cricket Project. I’m not saying the weird is bad, but it is different. Lyra’s dad is never around and her mom disappears when she is very young. Darren, on the other hand, is very poor. It’s different to see two people from such different backgrounds having such a good friendship. Honestly, I don’t really like Darren. He seems a little controlling to me. But his family is just like every other family I know. The parents work too many jobs and have too many kids, and a lot of times, they go without food. The parents in the book are not really around at home, so when they show up, it’s kind of a surprise, since they choose strange times to actually care. I like how the book navigates these things and makes them realistic, instead of just glossing over the hard stuff that comes with broken homes and broke homes.

3. The Cricket Project is so awesome, I can’t even explain to you!

So, the whole book is about the Cricket Project. This is Lyra’s father’s baby. He created it, and he – along with his sister – are the only people who can work it. Haven’t you ever wondered what would happen if you wished on a star and that wish was actually granted? This whole book is about that possibility. But, it’s not about magic. When I first read this synopsis, I thought it would have a lot to do with paranormal magic, but it’s not. It has everything to do with science and astronomy. Lyra is an aspiring scientist; she wants to be like her father. Since I’m not huge into science, it was interesting to see how the science can be used to grant wishes. It’s really, really interesting and one of my favorite parts about this concept.

4. The high school dynamic is there, but it is not overstated, and again: it is so real. Nothing is glossed over.

So, the book opens with Lyra and her team winning an Academic Decathalon. She gives an interview to the news and this is the first hint at how absolutely socially awkward she is. (Again, I say she is my spirit animal). Anyway, she isn’t necessarily bullied, but she is kind of revered as some kind of “weird kid” because she’s so smart. There are not a lot of scenes in the book where she is at school, but when she is, she’s not really the butt of that many jokes and she isn’t abused as much. It’s more of like kids rolling their eyes when she raises her hand to answer a question. I get that so much, even in my college classes. Anyway, I like how this book wasn’t about some frumpy girl who gets bullied and then finds her way. I know it’s a reality in our world, but it was nice to see that even though kids were irritated with her, Lyra never let that affect the way she saw herself or her world. I like that she remains smart through the whole book. (Yes, she makes some dumb decisions, but don’t we all)?

5. I hate the ending of this book so much. It’s unclear whether there will be a second.

Let me explain my above statement. I hated the end of this book because there is an opening for a second book, but we’re NEVER TOLD if that’s coming! *sob* I will read that book in a second! There is a crazy mystery throughout the entire book, and we get KIND OF an answer on the last page, but we never know what happens. Obviously, something huge happens, with the chance for huge consequences, but we never find out what happens during the aftermath. WHAT HAPPENS?! TELL MEEEEEE!!!

OVERALL: 4 stars! I really liked this book. It was such an interesting concept and I liked the way the story was told. I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review, and I couldn’t be happier with this! This comes out on November 24, 2014 so click the link below to pre-order! And enjoy it, because we will never be able to wish upon a star and honestly know our wish came true.

Click to Pre-Order!

2 thoughts on “Book Review: One Wish Away by Kelley Lynn

  1. Kelley Lynn says:

    Oh my gosh! Thanks for such an honest review! You totally got what I was trying to do with the story. A real girl genius, in a real world…with a twist 🙂

    And I plan on having a sequel 🙂

    Thanks for taking the time to read and review my work!

Leave a Reply

