Book Review: Suspicion by Alexandra Monir

SuspicionAgain, I have a lot to say, so here is your synopsis from Amazon:

“There’s something hidden in the maze.”

Seventeen-year-old Imogen Rockford has never forgotten the last words her father said to her, before the blazing fire that consumed him, her mother, and the gardens of her family’s English country manor.

For seven years, images of her parents’ death have haunted Imogen’s dreams. In an effort to escape the past, she leaves Rockford Manor and moves to New York City with her new guardians. But some attachments prove impossible to shake—including her love for her handsome neighbor Sebastian Stanhope.

Then a life-altering letter arrives that forces Imogen to return to the manor in England, where she quickly learns that dark secrets lurk behind Rockford’s aristocratic exterior. At their center is Imogen herself—and Sebastian, the boy she never stopped loving.

Combining spine-tingling mystery, romance, and unforgettable characters, Suspicion is an action-packed thrill ride.

1. Our main character is a tad annoying, but loveable at the same time.

This book starts with a bang. The first chapter has you hooked. Our main character is Lady Imogen Rockford, and she’s got problems. This starts with her needing to give a statement to police (we don’t know why, and I won’t tell you) which then melds into a flashback from when Imogen was 10 years old. No spoilers here, but her parents die. The how and the why are both things you need to read to find out, so again, I’m not going to tell you. The whole book is a mystery and had me stressed and guessing the whole time. This is basically a huge whodunnit type of mystery with a little magic thrown in. Anyway, Imogen has a lot of responsibility hoisted on her shoulders, and she is only 17 so I can understand her apprehension. However, I really didn’t like how she questions herself so much. Every single action she makes is pored over so much that it gets a little tedious. There were some points where I was yelling in my head, “just do it already! We both know you’re going to, so just go!” But she ends up being equal parts brave and cowardly which makes her super realistic, which I loved, especially in the world of this book.

2. Speaking of the world, it was pretty awesome. Old school class peppered with the modern world.

This world was pretty interesting. I’ve been getting into a lot of fantasies lately, and I expected this world to be more fantasy than reality. I’m pretty sure I was pleasantly surprised to see that this took place in the modern world with some old school English aristocracy. It made me feel bad for Imogen because I definitely couldn’t have kept all of these titles straight or go through etiquette training. There was a brief part of the book that reminded me of The Princess Diaries, but after the etiquette training and the big surprise to Imogen, that’s where the similarities end.

3. The magic in this book is a little bit pointless, and I wish there was more of it.

The biggest mystery in this book – well, one of the biggest mysteries – is the mystery of Imogen’s magic. We only see it a couple of times, and for half the book, she is afraid of it. Eventually, she embraces it (this is not a spoiler – if you read books, you know that at some point the main character has to embrace their flaws) and even after she decides not to be afraid, we don’t see a lot of magic. Her magic is pretty awesome, and I’m not going to tell you a lot about it because it is one of the biggest mysteries in the book, but I just wish there would have been more of it. As it was, Imogen’s abilities just seemed a little bit too convenient to feel magical.

4. The synopsis is right when it tells you that this book is like Hitchcock directing Downton Abbey.

Again, I am not giving any spoilers, but this book is a HUGE mystery. I am kind of unclear as to if there’s going to be another book, but the ending left the possibility open. However, from the second we the readers arrive at Rockford, you are totally freaked out. This house is creepy, the family history is even creepier, and the mystery surrounding this book is the creepiest. There are many twists and turns that you might try to call, but you won’t be able to. The biggest twist in the book floored me so much that I had to stop reading for a minute to make sure I had read what I did. I needed to process a little. It was so crazy and it gave me goosebumps while it was happening.

OVERALL: 3.5 STARS! I couldn’t tell you my favorite part about this book because I honestly enjoyed the whole thing. I started it last night and finished it in about 24 hours. It was engrossing, fun, and kept me guessing the whole time I was reading it. It is definitely a different take on aristocracy and the lengths some will go through to keep what they have. If you’re a fan of good, fast paced stories, then this is definitely the book for you. This comes out on December 9, 2014 so click the link below to pre-order!

Click to Pre-Order!

Leave a Reply

