Book Review: Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan

Blood of OlympusIf you haven’t read this series at all, then you need to turn around, go read them, then come back to this, because there will be a ton of spoilers and I don’t want to hear any whining. Here’s your synopsis:

Though the Greek and Roman crewmembers of the Argo II have made progress in their many quests, they still seem no closer to defeating the earth mother, Gaea. Her giants have risen-all of them-and they’re stronger than ever. They must be stopped before the Feast of Spes, when Gaea plans to have two demigods sacrificed in Athens. She needs their blood-the blood of Olympus-in order to wake.

The demigods are having more frequent visions of a terrible battle at Camp Half-Blood. The Roman legion from Camp Jupiter, led by Octavian, is almost within striking distance. Though it is tempting to take the Athena Parthenos to Athens to use as a secret weapon, the friends know that the huge statue belongs back on Long Island, where it might be able to stop a war between the two camps.

The Athena Parthenos will go west; the Argo II will go east. The gods, still suffering from multiple personality disorder, are useless. How can a handful of young demigods hope to persevere against Gaea’s army of powerful giants? As dangerous as it is to head to Athens, they have no other option. They have sacrificed too much already. And if Gaea wakes, it is game over.

1. Rick Riordan is hands down one of my favorite authors.

Seriously, there are so many times I’m reading and I shake my head and mutter, “that darn Rick.” He’s one of the only authors alive that can make me giggle during an intense fight scene. His characters are so well developed and realistic – even though they’re demigods – that they honestly feel like longtime friends. Maybe they feel like friends because I’ve been traveling with them for however many years he’s been writing them. Not only are his characters hilarious and amazing, but his research is so extensive and impressive. I took a mythology class a year ago, and I already knew most of the myths because I had been reading Riordan’s work. I cannot wait for the new series coming next year. *flails*

2. The mythology. If you love mythology, you are going to love not only these books, but pretty much everything Riordan writes.

Every myth in this series (and all of Riordan’s series) are absolutely correct. I knew more about mythology than I ever knew just from reading Riordan’s books. So there’s this series, then there’s Percy Jackson, then The Lost Hero, then the Kane Chronicles. All of them have serious, serious research involved. I didn’t understand how much research went in until I took that mythology course. I was blown away before, but then I was completely flabbergasted. This is why I couldn’t ever be an author. It is too much research for me to even comprehend.

3. This story. I honestly thought he was going to run out of ammo in this series because so much happens.

I was so happy that I was so happy with this whole thing. There was humor and love and laughter, but also death and war and darkness. The past four books have been chock full of adventure and quests. One of the things I liked about this book was that there was no turn where there wasn’t adventure, but none of it seemed like it was forced and it never seemed like Riordan ran out of the actual story to tell. The whole thing was planned and carried out impeccably, and I couldn’t have been happier.

4. There is the small matter of death.

So, as in the Percy Jackson series, there is death. This is the big finale just like in the last PJ book, so of course there is a huge battle, but there is also death – as in any war. Most of the deaths occur to people we don’t like, which makes us cheerful. But, sometimes, as any honest writer must do, some of our friends die. One of the best parts of this book is that it is kind of like Game of Thrones, in that you never really know who will survive – or who is really dead.

5. The chapter narratives are frustrating and amazing at the same time.

So, I like to call Riordan the master of cliffhangers. I hate reading his books while they’re still currently releasing, because the end of the book is always a horrible cliffhanger and leaves me with a book hangover for weeks afterward. However, in this book especially, I noticed that we get cliffhangers at the end of EVERY. CHAPTER. The chapter narratives in this one are Jason, Piper, Reyna, Leo, and Nico. I thought this was an interesting choice for the points of view. I’ve heard some gripes that Annabeth and Percy didn’t get a narrative, but this series wasn’t about them. Yes, they were a part of the quest and the fated seven, but this series is trying to wean you off of Percy and Annabeth, so why would there be any narratives from them? I’m not saying they aren’t in the story – they most definitely are, but I love that they don’t have their own chapters. It was a great way to end this.

OVERALL: FIVE STARS!!! I really love all of Riordan’s work, and this was no exception. I am never disappointed in how he ends his series and this one was one of my favorites. I can’t even tell you how excited I am for the Asgard series coming next year. Anyway, if you love mythology, get this series NOW and binge it. Trust me, it’s worth it.

Click to Order!

Leave a Reply

