2014 End of the Year Book Survey

This survey and the graphics were created over at The Perpetual-Page Turner (thanks, Jamie!) Go visit her and take the survey, too!

reading-stats-2014

Number Of Books You Read: I’m currently at 126, but I might finish two more before the year is up.
Number of Re-Reads: None that I can remember.
Genre You Read The Most From: Of course YA, but subsets of YA? I recently got into fantasy and sci-fi more than anything and I was really enjoying that genre.

 best-YA-books-2014

1. Best Book You Read In 2014?

You’re making me choose one?! I would say it’s a toss up between Sara J. Maas’s Heir of Fire and James Frey & Nils Johnson-Shelton’s Endgame.

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

The Walled City by Ryan Graudin. I met Graudin at ALA over the summer and I was stoked for this book. It was very underwhelming.

 3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read in 2014? 

I’m going to give a repeat answer: Endgame by James Frey and Nils Johnson-Shelton

 4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did) In 2014?

Lissa Price’s Starters and Enders and Amy Tintera’s Rebel and Reboot. My high school students devoured these books, so that made me push them MORE.

 5. Best series you started in 2014? Best Sequel of 2014? Best Series Ender of 2014?

I started Maas’s Throne of Glass series this year and ADORED. IT. I cried when I got my paws on Heir of Fire at ALA. Best series ender? Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor. So beautiful. And such a great way to end this fantastic trilogy.

 6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2014?

Jennifer L. Armentrout! I read Don’t Look Back and was seriously floored. What wonderful words pour out of that woman!

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

I’m going fantasy AND sci-fi on this one. I couldn’t find myself liking so many books in the genres, so I made an honest effort to try to read more from them. I was pleasantly surprised.

 8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

HALF. BAD. I could not put that book down. It’s a long book, but I finished it in about a day and a half. Just wow.

 9. Book You Read In 2014 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

I’m going Half Bad on this one again. The sequel comes out in March, and so much happens that I will definitely need to re-read.

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2014?

They All Fall Down by Roxanne St. Claire. This cover is so crazy. Go look it up.

11. Most memorable character of 2014?

Adelina Amouterou from The Young Elites. Young, female Darth Vader? Yes.

 12. Most beautifully written book read in 2014?

The Miseducation of Cameron Post by Emily M. Danforth. This was released in 2010 I believe, but I read it this year, and it was so gorgeous. Her words are just divine.

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2014?

Faking Normal by Courtney C. Stevens.This was such a poignant look at a serious issue in our society. It really made you think about…well, everything.

 14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2014 to finally read? 

Going with Maas again! I can’t believe I waited to start TOG until this year! What was wrong with me?! I really should have waited another year or so, so I wouldn’t be waiting with bated breaths for the rest of the books to release.

 15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2014?

“We can’t always see what others don’t want us to. Especially when they go to great lengths to hide it.” – All the Bright Places by Jenniver Niven

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2014?

Shortest: Any of the novellas I read

Longest: I read a lot of books that were 500+ pages. The last one I remember is The Bane Chronicles.

 17. Book That Shocked You The Most

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart. Admittedly, I called the ending pretty soon, but it was still incredibly jarring.

18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)

Caelena and Chaol – DUH!

19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year

Will Grayson and Tiny from Will Grayson, Will Grayson.

20. Favorite Book You Read in 2014 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

The Curseworker trilogy by Holly Black. It was amazing!

21. Best Book You Read In 2014 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:

The Throne of Glass series by Sara J. Maas. One of my friends told me about it, and I had a severe aversion to fantasy, so I had put it off. Once I started, though, I breezed through it.

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2014?

Ezra Faulkner from The Beginning of Everything by Robin Schneider. I think I have a huge crush on him because he was the most changed person.

23. Best 2014 debut you read?

The Jewel by Amy Ewing! I loved loved loved this book!!

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?

I think this one is a toss up between Sara J. Maas’s Heir of Fire and Marie Lu’s The Young Elites. Can you tell these were two of my favorite books?

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?

The Iron Trial by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare. I loved the concept, the world, everything. This really surprised me.

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2014?

ALL THE BRIGHT PLACES by Jennifer Niven. Wow.

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?

Talker 25 by Josh McCune. This had fantasy and dragons and all sorts of cool stuff.

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?

Challenger Deep by Neal Shusterman. I’m still hurting from that book and I finished it a couple of months ago. (This is a 2015 release, and it’s beautiful).

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2014?

Half Bad by Sally Green. This was a unique take on witches and the world that includes witches.

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?

Atlantia by Ally Condie. It made me mad because I really didn’t enjoy it, which made me SO upset. I loved the Matched trilogy, so I was really, really upset that this book did not live up to my expectations. It was a snooze fest until the last 50 pages, and I’m surprised I even made it that far!

book-blogging

1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2014?

Andi’s ABCs!

2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2014? 

My review for James Frey and Nils Johnson-Shelton’s Endgame. I really needed to address the haters who hadn’t even read the book, and I’m really proud of it.

3. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?

This is where I’m lacking. I had just started this blog over the summer and I’m just now realizing I need to do more stuff like this. I don’t make New Year’s Resolutions, but maybe I can go more of this direction in the coming year.

4. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

ALA 2014!!! ALA was in Las Vegas this year (where I live) and I got to go be with my people (book nerds and librarians). I went to so many signings, met so many cool librarian friends and blogger friends, and really gained back my love for blogging.

5. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2014?

This actually happened pretty recently. The book There Will Be Lies releases on January 6, 2015 and I had done a review on it. The publicity team emailed and asked if I would be a part of Nick Lake’s blog tour, so that was a super awesome moment for me.

7. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

My review for All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven (most likely because this book is phenomenal).

8. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?

My review for Challenger Deep by Neal Shusterman. It doesn’t come out for awhile, so there is still time.

9. Best bookish discover (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?

All of the awesome blogs I’ve found through Twitter! Living in Vegas, we only really have Barnes & Noble. Not a lot of people in this city are into reading, but I like knowing that there are indie bookstores I can support from afar, too.

10.  Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

My Goodreads goal is my favorite. Originally, I had set a goal of 100 books for myself, but by July, I had read nearly 90 books, so I upped the challenge to 120. Currently, I’m at 127 books completed!

looking-ahead-books-2015

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2014 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2015?

A bunch of the books I ordered for my birthday on Thanksgiving are just now coming in. So, that would include A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray, the Abhorsen series by Garth Nix (a friend gifted me the series about a year ago. I’ve never read it, but I HAVE to get to it!)

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2015 (non-debut)?

A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES BY SARA J. MAAS WOW

3. 2015 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

I’m not really sure what’s on the docket for 2015 debuts, but when I find out, I’ll let you know.

 4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2015?

Omg. This question is tough, but I have to say Half Wild by Sally Green.

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2015?

I hope to expand my blog A LOT. Hopefully I can get more creative and more into blogging. Sometimes, I really hate writing and I get in these ruts where I don’t want to write ANYTHING. I hate when writing feels like a job, so when it does, I quit for awhile until I gain my motivation again.

6. A 2015 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone:

There are three. Endangered by Lamar Giles (because wow), Challenger Deep by Neal Shusterman (because double wow), and All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven (because HOLY WOW AMAZING).

Leave a Reply

