Succumbing to Peer Pressure: My Top 5 Favorite Books of 2014!

I decided to do a top 5 instead of a top 10, because I know if I did 10, I would talk myself into 20, then 30, then it would just get ridiculous. So, I’m narrowing this down to 5.

5. Faking NormalFaking Normal by Courtney C. Stevens

This book was incredible. I love when books bring sensitive issues to light in a beautiful AND relateable way. Stevens’s writing is engrossing and gorgeous and I couldn’t put this down. The whole book is heart-breaking and powerful. I was sobbing through a lot of it because I wanted Alexi to find some peace. This was a great debut full of modern day issues and a cute romance (which is also believable). The characters seem like friends instead of characters in a book. I adored this.

4.

The Young ElitesThe Young Elites by Marie Lu

This book has had a lot of hype around it. I went to ALA over the summer and I met Marie Lu and she is really nice and wonderful. ALA is where I got my signed ARC of The Young Elites, and I was so so happy. I didn’t know how I was going to end up feeling about this book about halfway through, since it kind of dragged a little smack in the middle. But, just to give you a brief description: Adelina Amouterou is a young, female Darth Vader. The world building is phenomenal, I loved all of the characters, and the action was intense. I loved this so much. I can’t keep going on. I feel like I could take up the entirety of this post about how much I loved this book. Moving on!

3. Half BadHalf Bad by Sally Green

THIS BOOK WAS SO CRAZY!!! Not only did I love the new take on magic and witches, but it is a glaring social commentary on what is actually good or evil. There is no Black and White, but in this universe, there definitely is. I devoured this (even though it is quite lengthy) and adored it the whole way through. The writing was amazing, the story was engrossing, and I loved everything about this. I recently read the novella centering around this world (and one of my favorite characters in the book, Gabriel) and I finished it in half an hour. I want to live in this world. Not as a witch, mind you, because to be any kind of witch in this world is absolutely dangerous, but as a spectator. I think this is Green’s debut, which is so impressive. I can’t sing this book’s praises enough.

2. Another Little PieceAnother Little Piece by Kate Karyus Quinn

Earlier this year, I fell in love with Quinn and her creepy stories when I read (Don’t You) Forget About Me. While that book was deliciously creepy and awesome, this one was MORE so. I picked this up at the Vegas Valley Book Festival in October. I wanted to stick around to meet Quinn because I ADORE her work, but of course, that’s the day I caught a vicious cold. Anyway, this is definitely a case of body snatchers and it is weird and awesome and I loved it! Not many books can creep me out, and not many authors can creep me out, just like Quinn does. I will read anything she produces; I am a fan for life. This was amazing, I suggest you become a fan for life, too.

1.

Heir of FireHeir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

I am positive this is on a lot of bloggers’ best of lists. For damn good reason. I would like to take this opportunity to thank Maas for getting me back into fantasy. I picked up Throne of Glass at a friend’s suggestion, thinking I would hate it. I haven’t read a fantasy I enjoyed in years…until ToG. I picked up Heir of Fire at ALA in Vegas over the summer, and I swear I scared the pants off of the nice ladies at the Bloomsbury Publishing booth because I squealed SO loud. I ate this book up, as I had with the previous installments. I love Celaena Sardothien with a fierceness I never knew I could possess for a literary character. This book was definitely no disappointment. I will read anything Maas produces, which is why I’m waiting on pins and needles for not only the next ToG installment, but also A Court of Thorns and Roses that comes out in May.

Thanks for reading my best of list! This is the first time I’ve done one of these, and I really had to think HARD to narrow this list down to five. As I said, I couldn’t do ten, because then I would talk my self into 20 and 30 and you would never see the end of this post. I would love to hear how your reading year went! Leave me some of your favorite books of the year (even if they weren’t necessarily published this year, as is my case with Another Little Piece) in the comments below and happy reading for next year! There is so much coming out, we should all feel blessed by the reading fairies. Have a great holiday season, everyone (however you celebrate) and have a great New Year!

Leave a Reply

