ARC Review: Twisted Fate by Norah Olson

Twisted FateAuthor: Norah Olson

Release Date: January 20, 2015

Genre: Mystery, Romance, Psychological thriller

Pages: 272

I received this as an ARC from Epic Reads. I have some wavering opinions about this book. Part of my issue was MAYBE that it was an ARC and needed serious help. But, overall, I really enjoyed this. So, without further ado, here’s your synopsis from Amazon:

Two sisters. One mysterious boy.

Ally and Sydney couldn’t be more different—one shy, the other popular and outgoing—and when a new boy moves in next door, tensions between the sisters escalate. Graham is attractive, peculiar, and perhaps a little dangerous, and both girls are drawn to him in ways they can’t quite explain. As each girl’s relationship with Graham unfolds, the more complicated the truth becomes—until a shocking encounter turns their sleepy coastal town upside down and questions everything the sisters thought they knew about themselves and each other.

Told in alternating points of view by a wide cast of characters, Twisted Fate is a tensely wrought psychological thriller, perfect for fans of We Were Liars by E. Lockhart.

1. I loved the multiple points of view. Some people hate this, but I really like it.

One of the things I really, really liked about this were the many, many points of view we get from both main characters and fringe characters. The main chapters are told from the points of view of the sisters – Ally and Sydney – and Graham, the mysterious boy next door. Then, chapters pop up that are in the points of view of Syd’s school counselor, some policemen, and even Graham’s stepmom, Kim. These were wonderful, because they added to the mystery of the book, which starts on page one.

2. While I loved these points of view, there were some that definitely needed work.

I know I read this as an ARC and that may be why this problem exists. However, there was one chapter from the point of view of Syd’s guidance counselor, then mid-chapter, it switches to Syd’s point of view. Now, if the book had done this from the beginning and set a precedent for it, it would’ve been okay. But, nowhere else in the book does this happen. Olson does a great job of telling you whose point of view we’re seeing and writing in that character’s voice. However, this was not the case with this particular chapter. There was another issue in I think one of Ally’s chapters where, instead of her saying, “I set my backpack down on the floor,” she said, “I set her backpack down on the floor.” Call me nit-picky. Maybe I am. But, I have to take solace in the fact that this is an ARC and that will all hopefully be fixed before publication.

3. This “psychological thriller” was pretty easy to call if you pay attention.

You know I’m never going to give you spoilers intentionally. However, from the beginning, there are HUGE clues as to the “psychological” part of this thriller. Just make sure to pay attention when you’re reading. If you call the weirdness early, this book gets even more weird and creepy. I loved the creep factor of this because I didn’t expect it.

4. The creep factor is high in this one. I had a hard time reading it in the dark. There were times where my skin was crawling.

I honestly didn’t expect this book to creep me out as much as it did. I guess, in my defense, I can tell you that I didn’t really read the whole synopsis. I won this ARC from a contest Epic Reads was holding, and was stoked, because the ARC cover is beautiful and haunting. This was a thriller in every sense of the word. It’s a short read, and I could have put it down, but the mystery of it was driving me crazy. I had to know what was going on, hence why I finished this in one sitting. As I was finishing this at 1 a.m., I was regretting reading this in the dark. This was seriously creepy. Graham is a really mysterious and strange character and I think he was written really, really well.

OVERALL: 4 stars!!! I really did love the mystery of this, regardless of the errors it contained (grammatically and otherwise). I loved the dynamics between the sisters and the other characters and I love Graham as a character. He’s not necessarily a villain, but…you’ll see when you read. This book comes out on January 20, 2015 so click the link to pre-order, especially if you’re ready for a creep fest!

Click to Pre-Order!

Leave a Reply

