Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Bringing This Year!

Top Ten TuesdayThank you to the ladies over at The Broke and the Bookish for this awesome Top Ten Tuesday topic! This Tuesday’s topic is Santa and the bookish surprises he may have for me in his bag. Here are the top ten books I would LOVE for him to bring to me (released or unreleased, because there are a TON of awesome 2015 releases coming)!

1.

BeastkeeperBeastkeeper by Cat Hellisen

Creepy forests, magic, and curses! Sign me up! This book looks so awesome. I was denied a digital galley from NetGalley, so of course, that makes me want it even MORE. This book releases on February 3rd, so if I get gift cards, I’m definitely setting some aside for this!

2.

Chasing PowerChasing Power by Sarah Beth Durst

Telekinesis used for thievery and teleportation and ancient incantations to save lives? YES. I am so excited for this book. And, will you LOOK at that cover?! The font! The lightbulb! This will make a fantastic addition to my shelf.

3.

Rebel BelleRebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins

Lately, I’ve been obsessed with Southern gothic YA, and this is pretty close. This looks more like a Southern paranormal/fantasy. She obtains powers? There’s a prophecy? She needs to protect someone with her newfound powers? AND I get to participate in a Southern cotillion? Oh, yes. I loved Hawkins’s Hex Hall series, so I’m very excited about this one.

4.

Blood of My BloodBlood of My Blood by Barry Lyga

If you loved I Hunt Killers as much as I did (which is A WHOLE TON), you’d be as excited about this as I am. Jasper is a teenaged Dexter, except he’s never actually committed a murder; his dad is the murderous mastermind. Jasper is always trying to escape his fate. Game ended on such a huge cliffhanger, that I am desperately hoping Santa buys into my adoration of this series.

5.

StrayStray by Elissa Sussman

This. Book. Looks. So. Awesome. The synopsis touts a comparison combining Disney and the Grimm Brothers’ stories. SIGN ME UP!! I had ordered this used from Amazon a few months ago, but the order was canceled because it was out of stock, so instead of re-ordering, I decided to wait for Santa. Fingers crossed!

6.

This Shattered WorldThis Shattered World by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

Oh, don’t even get me started on These Broken Stars! I was so strongly and emotionally connected with these characters, that I cried actual tears. It actually snuck up on me. I didn’t think I’d like the first book as much as I did, but wow! I can’t wait for this series to continue.

7.

The Orphan QueenThe Orphan Queen by Jodi Meadows

I am convinced Jodi Meadows is the queen of fantasy world building. Her Incarnate series totally caught me by surprise. I was especially impressed by her world building and character development. I got to speak to her at the Vegas Valley Book Festival, and I loved her before…but after that, color me obsessed. She’s so wonderful and I can’t WAIT to read this! This comes out on March 10, so there’s one more thing I’ll be saving gift cards for!

8.

Half WildHalf Wild by Sally Green

OH GOD. I LOVED HALF BAD SO MUCH, I DON’T EVEN HAVE THE WORDS TO EXPLAIN IT. My post about my 5 favorite books of 2014 features Half Bad and I can’t wait to live in this world again. So much yes. I have to wait for this one, too. This comes out on March 24, so by sheer will, I need to save my gift cards for this!!!

9.

Stitching SnowStitching Snow by R.C. Lewis

This book’s synopsis makes me think of Marissa Meyer’s Lunar Chronicles series, and I love that series, so here we go. Recently, I’ve been trying to read more scifi and fantasy, so this sounds right up my alley! Evil queens, princesses, and alien planets? So. Much. Yes.

10.CompulsionCompulsion by Martina Boone

As mentioned above, my obsession with the Southern gothic subset of YA is out of control. This synopsis kind of reminds me of William Faulkner mixed with a bit of modern YA. I can’t wait to read this! Plus, look at that bad ass cover! Yes.

So, here you go, Santa. I need all of these under my tree, please. If not, you can just bring me gift cards and I’ll order them myself! Share with me some of *your* book wishes from Santa in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Bringing This Year!

Leave a Reply

