Book Review: The Unfinished Life of Addison Stone by Adele Griffin

The Unfinished Life of Addison StoneAuthor: Adele Griffin

Release Date: August 12, 2014

Genre: Docu-fiction

Page count: 256

I. LOVED. THIS. BOOK. I also have a lot to say about this, so here is your synopsis from Amazon:

From the moment she stepped foot in NYC, Addison Stone’s subversive street art made her someone to watch, and her violent drowning left her fans and critics craving to know more. I conducted interviews with those who knew her best—including close friends, family, teachers, mentors, art dealers, boyfriends, and critics—and retraced the tumultuous path of Addison’s life. I hope I can shed new light on what really happened the night of July 28.

-Adele Griffin

1. The layout and formatting of this book was so awesome!

I’ve never read a book like this in my entire life. Not until I did a little digging on the book did I realize that Addison Stone was not a real person, just a figment of Griffin’s imagination. The whole thing is laid out in the form of interviews the author “conducted” with the people who were closest to Addison ranging from her high school boyfriend to her best friend to her family to her acquaintances in New York. There is a vast cast of characters who tell their version of events in Addison’s life. Peppered between the interviews, there are articles Addison was featured in, magazine covers, interviews with her school paper, and photos of Addison. The acknowledgements tell you who posed as Addison for these photos, but they’re given credit as if they’re actual photos! This was so awesome, almost like watching a documentary on an artist taken too soon.

2. The character of Addison Stone was truly haunting.

Before I found out this whole thing was fabricated – and also feeling stupid for thinking this was all a real biography – I was completely haunted by Addison Stone. I finished this in a day. My nose was buried in this at work. I couldn’t get enough of Addison. Bravo to Griffin for creating this totally engrossing character who I felt was so real that I Googled her. My first clue should have been that the only thing that popped up was this book, but that didn’t stop me!

3. The supporting cast of characters were equal parts abhorrent, fascinating, and supportive to Addison.

There are many people “interviewed” for this book. By far, my favorites were Lucy, Addison’s best friend since childhood, and Zach, the guy who pretty much ruined Addison’s life. There’s nothing like a good villain, and Zach is as close as you get in this book. Zach and Addison date when she first moves to New York. They have a horrible breakup, and after that, a string of revenge pranks happen between the two. From Zach blacklisting Addison from parties to Addison burning down his house, the fun never ends! We find out Addison comes from a broken home. Her parents’ interviews are equal parts sad and hopeful. The whole cast of characters is brilliant.

OVERALL: five stars!! I can’t really say much more about this book without sounding repetitive, so just go read it! It is awesome, the story is engrossing, and the whole docu-fiction element is so new and refreshing. Trust me when I say you’ve never read a book like this! Click the link below to order!

Click to order!

Leave a Reply

