Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Goals for 2015

Top Ten TuesdayAgain, thanks to Jamie over at The Broke and the Bookish for this Top Ten Tuesday topic (what an alliteration)! I’m not really one for resolutions, but I do like that idea of goals I should set for myself for 2015. This list will mostly be teaching/blogging/reading related.

1. I want to read 120 books.

This seems like an arbitrary goal because I’m currently sitting pretty at 136 books read for 2014. My goal for the year started at 100, but by June, I had hit 83 books, so I bumped it up to 120! However, since this will be my first year of teaching, that reading time will be cut tremendously. I still want to keep up with reading and blogging, too. So that is a lofty goal to me.

2. I want to add more features other than *just* reviews to my blog.

I am a huge reviewer. I love reviewing books and giving authors and publishers my feedback, whether it’s good or bad. But, I’ve become Twitter friends with some FANTASTIC bloggers, and I want to emulate the awesomeness that are their other features on their blogs.

3. I want to be a creative, fun teacher.

This job kind of landed in my lap. I’ve been in school for 7 years. I graduated on December 16, 2014 and I got my first teaching job at a middle school on December 5. I had all of my training in high schools, so this is honestly a huge endeavor for me. Middle school and high school are two completely different worlds. Not only do I want to be fun, but I want to excel and I want my kids to learn so much from me.

4. I want to move out of my parents’ house.

As much as I love my parents, I think it’s high time I get out on my own. I am 27 and I feel like such a loser for living with my parents (not saying that people my age or older living with their parents are losers, I know the economy sucks right now, but for my personal feeling…I’m a loser). I want to be able to find and afford a place sometime in the near future. Somewhere to call my very own.

5. I want to find the courage to consistently email publishers for physical ARCs!

This may sound like a dumb one, but I am so petrified of emailing publishers for ARCs since I don’t have a huge following on Twitter or my blog (yet)! But, thanks to previously mentioned Twitter friends, I’ve gained more courage when emailing publishers with requests.

6. I want to pay off my car!

I got in this horrible accident 4 years ago. I had to go through one surgery on my shoulder because of it, and I may have to go through another one. I am finally going to trial on January 9th, and I’m really hoping I get some kind of settlement, mainly so I can pay off my car. The sooner I pay that off, the sooner I can achieve my goal of moving out!

7. I want to be a better friend.

This past semester has been rough with student teaching and working. A lot of my friends fell on the wayside, and I want to be sure that I am being a better friend to the friends that I adore.

8. I want to relax more.

I have a really hard time relaxing. Even when I am relaxing, I’m always doing something else, along with sitting on the couch. I want to just sit and enjoy a book or sit and play a game on my Kindle without freaking out about doing something.

9. I want to spend more time with my sister.

My sister is 19 and too cool for me, but the older we get, the closer we become. I want to foster this new relationship of ours and make it grow. I want one of those relationships with my sister where we’re best friends and tell each other everything. I’ve always been jealous of those kind of relationships, because my sister is 8 years younger than me. We’re finally at a point where we understand each other and I’d like to make a habit of us actually being friends.

10. I want to go on a real vacation.

I don’t remember the last time I actually went on a vacation. I want to go away for a week. I want to go somewhere I’ve never been and I want to fly to my destination. I’m starting my new job on January 5th and I’ll have paid summers off, which means I can fly somewhere, stay in an awesome hotel, and just be away for like a week without having to take time off of work. It’ll be awesome.

Some of these things sound kind of petty, but they’re all a big deal to me. I want to try and fulfill all of these! Tell me what some of your goals are for 2015!

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Goals for 2015

Leave a Reply

