Book Review: Blood of My Blood by Barry Lyga

Blood of My BloodAuthor: Barry Lyga

Release Date: September 9, 2014

Pages: 480

Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Crime, Serial Killer Mystery

I am giving you this disclaimer now: If you haven’t read I Hunt Killers and Game, I will spoil a lot for you. So, until you read those, DON’T READ THIS. Go finish the first two and come back, okay?!

With that said, here’s your synopsis from Amazon:

Jazz Dent has been shot and left to die in New York City. His girlfriend Connie is in the clutches of Jazz’s serial killer father, Billy. And his best friend Howie is bleeding to death on the floor of Jazz’s own home in tiny Lobo’s Nod. Somehow, these three must rise above the horrors their lives have become and find a way to come together in pursuit of Billy. But then Jazz crosses a line he’s never crossed before, and soon the entire country is wondering: “Like father, like son?” Who is the true monster?

The chase is on, and beyond Billy there lurks something much, much worse. Prepare to meet…the Crow King.
1. I. Love. Jasper. Dent.
As a fan of the Dexter book series and show (well…up to season four, anyway), I can honestly tell you that Jasper Dent and his crazy dad (and family) are more fascinating than I ever found Dexter. Ever since book one, Jasper has tried to deny his nature pounded into him by his father. He tries to prove to himself that people are real. People matter. This book is the best look we’ve ever had into Jasper’s mind and the reasons behind his actions. His steady decline is heartbreaking and real and so entirely necessary.
2. Can we talk about Barry Lyga’s writing for a second, here?
Barry Lyga is so impressive. Even when describing a gruesome murder or injury, his words are so captivating that I can’t look away. He’s so descriptive that sometimes it is something I actually wish I could look away from. It’s almost like seeing it in front of your eyes, but in a book, you know? He is scary good, and I wouldn’t have wanted anyone else to tell this story. Bravo!
3. This is the craziest book of the three, in my humble opinion.
When I first stumbled across I Hunt Killers in the library, I was hooked before I even opened the book. I have a strange obsession with serial killers – fictional or otherwise. Therefore, reading about the son of a notorious serial killer? YEP. So, in this book, we catch up to Jazz as he’s left for dead in a storage unit, Connie in the clutches of Billy Dent, and Howie in the hospital…again. The three friends are not together much through the book, but it’s interesting to see the individual things they struggle with when they’re apart. This was so great.
4. Billy Dent is pure, pure evil…but even he is no match for the Crow King.
We’ve figured out through the second book (I hope, because I had it figured out) that Billy Dent is not the Crow King. We know that he’s playing the game and we know he’s in the Crows, but we know he’s just a player in the game. We meet the Crow King, guys. And he is not who you would ever expect. I had to pick my jaw up off of the floor because that was honestly out of nowhere. Billy Dent is up to his usual hijinks in this book, but don’t you worry. You’ll be satisfied.
5. Poor Jasper.
Throughout this book, Jasper declines rapidly. His mental decline kind of reminded me of Walter White’s declension into Heisenberg in Breaking Bad. Although, Jasper has had issues since he was a small child – what with his crazy dreams/memories – and Walter White chose to become the man he did. Jasper also has a decision though, and he definitely makes that decision he’s been struggling with since I Hunt Killers. This was a great journey to go on. I laughed, I cried, and I was satisfied.
OVERALL: 5 stars!!! I’ve given all three of these books 5 stars, because I love them SO. MUCH. Lyga’s writing is hauntingly beautiful, the story is crazy, and the murders are so in depth that you feel like you’re watching it on a show instead of reading. I loved this so much. This was definitely not the end of a series that disappointed me. If you’ve been following Jasper since day one, you will NOT be disappointed with this conclusion. I loved this so much! Click the link below to order (or go to the library, like I did)!
Leave a Reply

