ARC Review: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Red Queen

Release Date: February 10, 2015

Publisher: HarperTeen

Genre: Fantasy, Adventure

So I really loved this book. There were a lot of reasons why I loved this book, so for the sake of brevity, I’ll try to keep this as short as possible. I could really go on and on and on. Here’s your synopsis from Amazon:

Mare Barrow’s world is divided by blood—those with common, Red blood serve the Silver- blooded elite, who are gifted with superhuman abilities. Mare is a Red, scraping by as a thief in a poor, rural village, until a twist of fate throws her in front of the Silver court. Before the king, princes, and all the nobles, she discovers she has an ability of her own.

To cover up this impossibility, the king forces her to play the role of a lost Silver princess and betroths her to one of his own sons. As Mare is drawn further into the Silver world, she risks everything and uses her new position to help the Scarlet Guard—a growing Red rebellion—even as her heart tugs her in an impossible direction. One wrong move can lead to her death, but in the dangerous game she plays, the only certainty is betrayal.

1. I actually liked the romance in this book! I know. Shocking.

If you’ve been reading my reviews for awhile, you know that I am not really one for romance. It kind of makes me feel gaggy and vomitous. However, the romance in this one is kind of small compared to everything else happening! This made me so, so happy. Plus, everyone is not what they seem, so it made for a really fun twist to the romances going on. There is kind of a love triangle, but…well, you’ll just have to see for yourself.

2. I loved the main character!!

I was honestly surprised by Mare. In books like this, oftentimes I am disappointed in the main character for many reasons: no bravery, too much whining, loving every guy that comes into her sight. I know that these MCs are normally teenagers, but when saddled with this responsibility, I think they should be a little bit more grown up. BUT Mare Barrow is the shit. Honestly. She doesn’t do much fighting, but she never annoyed me. I was always nervous that she’d turn around and do something to shatter that, but she never did. YAY!!

3. This world is so crazy, but actually kind of similar to our own.

I’m a middle school teacher, and my kids and I are closing in on reading pieces about Jackie Robinson and studying the 1960s, Civil Rights, and the Holocaust. This world kind of reminded me of the 60s when the whites were above the blacks and there was so much violence. In this world, though, it’s all about the color of your blood – not your skin. If your blood is Silver, you have abilities and you have money and power. If your blood is Red, well suit up for a life of poverty, war, and starvation. The Reds are the serfs and servants of this world, and it is quite sickening, but really cool to imagine – mostly because I don’t have to actually be a part of this world!

4. The world building was impressively strong. I loved it!

I hate when an author is a terrific world builder, then doesn’t follow the world’s rules. In this book, it is deliberate. Mare finds out she has powers, even being a Red (don’t worry, that’s SO not a spoiler). The rest of the world follows the rules, except for Mare, which was an excellent way to show me how rare she is. This was fabulous, surprising, awe-inspiring. I hate writing. I could never actually build a world this intricate. Bravo!

5. The princes. *swoon*

It’s not every day I swoon over a character. In fact, I think the last guy character I swooned over was Four! Anyway, both of these princes – Maven and Cal – are swoon worthy. Cal is the strong soldier who is also kind, but can be kind of a dick when he gets in I’m a prince mode. Maven, though, is kind of in Cal’s shadow (he’s the younger brother) but he is so kind and accepting. I didn’t know which to like more!

6. The overall theme here is anyone can betray anyone, so watch out who you trust.

Trust me when I say, your heart will get shattered. I knew what was coming before it happened, but it still made me feel SO. DEVASTATED!!! Even if you, too, know it’s coming, it’s still so awful. Just…keep this small phrase in mind while you’re reading, yeah? It may help soften the blow, even just a tad.

OVERALL: FIVE STARS!!!!! I really, really enjoyed this book. I couldn’t put it down. In fact, I used it as a bribe so I would finish grading and lesson planning faster. This was amazing. I loved it. This releases on February 10, 2015 so click the link below to pre-order!!

Click to pre-order!

2 thoughts on “ARC Review: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Leave a Reply

