ARC Review: Lion Heart by A.C. Gaughen

Lion HeartPublisher: Bloomsbury Kids

Release Date: May 19, 2015

Genre: YA, Retelling

Source: ARC sent by Bloomsbury Publishing

*******IF YOU HAVE NOT READ SCARLET AND LADY THIEF, BACK AWAY. GO READ THOSE AND COME BACK. SPOILERS FOR THOSE TO BOOKS ARE CONTAINED HEREIN******* I got this ARC in exchange for an honest review. I am aware my Lady Thief review was over 1,300 words, and I really feel no shame about that. I’ll try to make this one a little more brief, and I’ll try my hardest to refrain some spoilers! If I see one coming, I’ll warn you! Here is your synopsis from Amazon:

Scarlet has captured the hearts of readers as well as the heart of Robin Hood, and after ceaseless obstacles and countless threats, readers will finally find out the fate of the Lady Thief.
Imprisoned by Prince John for months, Scarlet finds herself a long way from Nottinghamshire. After a daring escape from the Prince’s clutches, she learns that King Richard’s life is in jeopardy, and Eleanor of Aquitaine demands a service Scarlet can’t refuse: spy for her and help bring Richard home safe. But fate-and her heart-won’t allow her to stay away from Nottinghamshire for long, and together, Scarlet and Rob must stop Prince John from going through with his dark plans for England. They can not rest until he’s stopped, but will their love be enough to save them once and for all?

1. This book contains one of my favorite friendships in the series.

We met Allan a Dale in Lady Thief and he continues his friendship and service to Scarlet through this book. He ends up being quite an asset, especially since we left Scarlet chained up in a carriage on her way to prison. He is loyal and true and also offers a bit of comedic relief. These books are so heavy and heart wrenching that you definitely need that relief occasionally. Allan proves that he is only there to help Scarlet whenever he may need, and he always shows up at the MOST opportune times. Thankfully, he’s stuck to Scarlet like glue and he saves her life more than once. Allan rules.

2. We see a villain worse than Gisbourne. I KNOW I KNOW, hear me out.

We thought Gisbourne was a horrible piece of human, but Prince John shows us that Gisbourne was nothing compared to him. John is absolutely pure evil and he is our main villain in this book. He kind of reminds me of Regina George from Mean Girls. Not only does he believe he is destined to rule, but he has a cohort of snotty noblemen who believe the same, just like Regina! He is a whiny, powerful brat and that is extremely unfortunate. I will never understand Eleanor’s trust in him. Just trust me when I say I HATE HATE HATE John so much. You will, too. I love me some villains, but I couldn’t find myself enjoying John at all. I wanted to punch him.

3. Eleanor. Lovely, lovely Eleanor.

As much as I love Eleanor, there are times that she severely underestimates Scarlet. Finally, in this final installment, Eleanor finds enough trust in Scarlet to trust her and listen to her. This was so fantastic to see. I know Eleanor is very protective of her granddaughter, but there were times where I wanted to scream at her and shake her. Luckily, though, Eleanor knows that with the dastardly plan John has cooked up, she needs Scarlet to save the country. She really comes to her senses in this book, and I loved this.

4. There is another friendship in this book which I loved: Scarlet and Margaret.

Truth time. Scarlet has zero female friends. I mean, it’s understandable since her sister is dead and every female she has met in court has been awful to her. Here, we see Scarlet meet Margaret, who is one of Eleanor’s hand maidens. Scarlet ends up saving Margaret from certain doom, but their friendship starts out extremely rocky.

5. A.C. Gaughen reminds me of a female, YA George R.R. Martin.

I say this in the highest possible complimentary way. This series has taught me that I cannot love a character. Just like Martin, Gaughen kills her characters with reckless abandon, just so she can bathe in her readers’ tears. I’m convinced. Beware this series if you’re super sensitive. Although, I really did enjoy the ending. It was a great ending to the series: it answered all my questions, everything was nicely resolved, and I didn’t really hurt too much. This was great.

OVERALL: 5 STARS!!! ROBLET 5EVER AND 5 EVER!!! I loved this series so, so much. The dialect takes a bit to get used to, but it is also a HUGE part of the series, so pay attention. This book releases on May 19, 2015 so click the link below to pre-order your copy!!

Click to Pre-Order!

Leave a Reply

