Girl, Where You Been?

I feel so bad for not posting much within the past month, so I figured I’d change it up a little and do a personal post, just to kind of catch you up on where I’ve been! I have a lot to say here…I hope you don’t mind.

First thing’s first: I just started my career. I started teaching (for real) in January. I got thrown into a classroom in the middle of the year. It wasn’t just that, but it was a middle school, when I got all of my training in high schools. That ALONE is a huge adjustment. Over the past few months, I have honestly grown to love these kids, even if they’re not the age I want to teach.

Honestly, teaching is the hardest profession. I mean, not to discount military or firemen or police, it’s just…really stressful. These past few months have been crucial (plus, I got so sick for about a week, so that was fun) especially since the school year was ending. It was a lot of hurry up and teach this material so your kids don’t fail your final and the department needs to turn in your final exam, we need to hurry and do this last minute. Seriously. Stressful.

So, the past few weeks has been a slew of living, learning, messing up, feeling like a horrible teacher, and stressing about getting things done last minute. Until this. For the end of the year, I wrote every one of my students a letter. Thanking them, telling them how wonderful and smart and kind they are, telling them how I’m so excited to see what they do with their lives, etc. I gave these letters to them on Monday. I have had students write me letters back, and let me tell you how emotional and rewarding it is to see how you’ve made a difference in a kid’s life. “Thank you for always believing in me.” *sob* “Thank you for always supporting me, even if you didn’t always know you were doing it.” *sobs harder* “You’ve made a huge impact on my life.” *dies*

That was a huge rant. And really, altogether positive! Here’s the other reason: I’ve procured myself a boyfriend. Yes! Me! I have feelings now, I guess. He’s kind of new/old. We dated when I was a teenager (he’s 3 and a half years older) and it wasn’t really serious since he lives in California and we were both broke. Now, though? We both have degrees and careers and he’s wonderful. That’s all the gushing I’ll do for now; I don’t want you to throw up with the cuteness of it. We’ll hopefully be seeing each other in two weeks. Yay for summers off!

Thanks for reading this, if you kept going. I know I’m not on a specific schedule and I know that blogging is for ME, but I really do appreciate all of you for following me. I kind of just wanted to give you an update. I haven’t been reading much. It used to take me a day or so to read a book, now it takes at least 7! But, summer is coming (Friday is my last day of school, then I’m off until August!). I’m going to read hard and review hard, so never fear.

Thanks for sticking with me. I love you, awesome nerds.

❀ Andi

2 thoughts on “Girl, Where You Been?

  1. Kelly Peterson says:

    What?… WHAT?! WHATTTTT?!?!?!?! ANDI!!!!!! WHAT THE?!?!?! ANDIIIIIIOO HOW DID YOU NOT TELL ME ABOUT THIS!!!! YOU NEED TO TEXT ME ASAP AND INFORM YOUR SOUL SISTER ABOUT THESE THINGS!!!

    Also, *sob* I’m so proud of you love!! You’re an amazing teacher and I’m so happy that your students feel the same and LET YOU KNOW that you are amazing. I’ll mail you more tissues, okay?

    P.S. I TOTALLY knew you had feelings. πŸ˜‰ There’s no hiding these things from me!!!! CALLED IT!!

    P.P.S. I love you too awesome nerd. ❀ (I need to see PP2. *cries*

  2. emilynelson89 says:

    Oh my gosh is teaching stressful. I think it’s a kind of stress people don’t necessarily get. What they think you do while you teach and what you actually do are two TOTALLY different things. And even teacher to teacher it’s different. I mean I teach 4 and 5 year olds and my stresses and your stresses are just that much different. I feel you there. But I bet this is an experience you will be so thankful to have had (if you haven’t felt that already then believe me, it’s coming).

    And those boys…they sure take up a lot of time. But I am so happy you are happy! You deserve it! 😊

    It’s lovely to see you are still alive and well lady! Good luck on the remainder of the school year!

Leave a Reply

