An Open Letter to My #OTSPSecretSister

First of all, I have three special ladies to thank.

1. Brittany from The Book Addicts Guide

2. Alyssa from Books Take You Places

3. Amy from Tripping Over Books

Without you awesome ladies, I never would have stumbled upon #OTSPSecretSister or the absolute joy it has brought my overly stressed life over the past few months. For doing all of this, for the love of books and our awesome bookish community, I thank you from the bottom of my heart. Now to my own secret sister.

Dear #OTSPSecretSister,

As of today, June 27th, I still don’t know who you are. I feel I am too stupid to follow your very clever clues. Usually I hate secrets. I hate surprises, especially when I know they’re coming. This whole experience has changed my mind. I know a lot of people tried to take advantage of our wonderful hosts and this phenomenal program by just wanting STUFF. You and I both know that it is so much more than the stuff. It’s about paying attention and thinking about a person you’ve never met. Then, getting to know them through emails and Twitter and secretly stalking their every move online. While to some people, that sounds creepy, to us, it’s love.

It astounds me how someone I have never met (not to mention, someone whose identity I have yet to find out) gets me so completely. It’s like you have ESP and know exactly when I need a pick me up. I remember I had one really bad day right when I started teaching. I got my mail after work that day, and you had written me this beautiful message that lifted me up so much that I was determined to make the next day a better day. You’ve been doing this exactly when I’ve needed it for the past six months. I cannot even describe how much you and your kind words mean to me and how absolutely joyous I get whenever anything from you comes in the mail – letter or otherwise.

I can see how Alyssa, Amy, and Brittany are wary about who they choose to be a part of this. It is difficult to pick and choose since some people who basically just want stuff would take advantage. While the stuff you’ve sent me is amazing, it’s the thought behind it that takes my breath away every time I get a special delivery from you. Most people in my real life don’t know my tastes as well as you or GET me as much as you and for that, you have a lifelong friend out of me. I really and truly adore you.

I hope soon that I get to know your identity, because this is the beginning of a beautiful friendship. Thank you for lifting me up when I’m down, wishing me well with my health, and being an all around incredible person. You’ve meant so much to me the past 6 months and I kind of always find my mind drifting to the possibilities of who you might be. Soon, though, I’ll know!

But, until then, know that I love you and I cherish the bond that we have. You’re a beautiful person and I hope you end up reading this. However, these words don’t even convey the gratitude and joy and love I have towards you!

You’re wonderful.

And I love you.

Love,

Andi

5 thoughts on “An Open Letter to My #OTSPSecretSister

  1. fandomsmarvels says:

    Hi there I’m a senior in high school now, and I’m wondering what career to pursue. These past 3 years (hs) I have volunteered at hospitals and done an internship. But I keep hearing do what you love and you never work a day in your life. Well I love reading. My ideal job is to sit in bed and read all day. But alas that is not possible (or is it…let me in on this secret guys) do is there a book related career out there for me. Looking over toy blog, and great job. I love your blog, I started my own blog last summer and I haven’t updated it in a while so props to you!!!!!! Do u love being a teacher?? And advice
    Tons of love fellow fangirl

    • andistrube says:

      As far as my research shows, there is not job that will pay you to sit in bed and read all day, unless you’re a professional editor! Those jobs are difficult to attain as you need to know someone in the business to even get an internship! But yes, I LOVE being a teacher. My blog has slowed down since I graduated and started teaching but it’s true. Passion over paycheck, young grasshopper. Thank you for reading! ❤

Leave a Reply

