Backlist Mini Review: Armada by Ernest Cline

ArmadaI have needed to stew over this book for a couple of days. So much happened! If you want more detailed information about the publisher, release date, etc go visit the book’s Amazon page here. This book was amazing and got FIVE STARS from me, so here are five short reasons why I adored this.

1. The nerdiness. I love it.

If you read Cline’s other masterpiece, Ready Player One, you already know that he writes with ton of pop culture references. This was absolutely no different. While I enjoyed RPO more than I did this book, it was still right up my alley!

2. Zack Lightman is awesome.

Our main character is Zack and he is a video game nerd. He is raised by his mother (his father died when he was very young) and he has anger issues. I love books with heroes who are not perfect and this was something I loved about Zack.

3. The romance is minimal and believable.

I usually don’t like romance, especially in books where there is already so much going on. However, the relationship between Zack and Lex is so cute. It kind of happens pretty quickly, but it’s not like love at first sight, which I can’t stand. They’re trying to save the world, so of course they’re looking for companionship!

4. The supporting cast of characters is vast, but the ones we see a lot of are fantastic.

There are a BIG amount of characters to keep track of, but every single one of them serves a purpose. Not once did I feel like a character was just thrown in randomly to stir stuff up. I love when every character you meet has a purpose. The people Zack plays with online are even featured in the book and you come to love them as much as he does.

5. The message is perfect.

I can’t tell you much about this point to avoid spoilers, but the ending was great! I loved the entire message of the book. When you everything is revealed and solved, you realize that the whole book had been preparing you for that message. This sounds so vague, I’m sorry, but I’m not spoiling this for you because you need to READ IT NOW.

One thought on “Backlist Mini Review: Armada by Ernest Cline

  1. missprint says:

    Clearly I need to work on reading an Ernest Cline novel. I have to admit, though, that my first association every time I read about this book is the movie The Last Starfighter. If I can get past that, I will give it a try!

Leave a Reply

