ARC Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Everything EverythingTitle: Everything, Everything

Author: Nicola Yoon

Series: None. Standalone

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Release Date: September 1, 2015

Genre: YA, Contemporary

I was provided with an egalley of this book from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This is no way affects the candor of this review.

You guys know by now that I’m never really into contemporary unless it grabs me immediately. Well, this one did it! I loved this book so much. So, here’s your synopsis from Amazon:

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

1. I really, really liked Maddy.

So Maddy’s disease basically makes it so she’s trapped inside always. When she has visitors, they have to be completely decontaminated because she is allergic to everything. Instead of wallowing in pity over her illness, she loves to live her life through books (which are vacuum sealed and brand new inside of bags that are delivered to her) and her classes over Skype. She loves architecture and is able to see her tutor once a week. This really impressed me because if it were me, I would be constantly feeling sorry for myself and I would most DEFINITELY wallow in self pity. Not Maddy, though. I really liked that about her.

2. Maddy is surrounded by a great support system…and then we meet Olly.

Maddy has been attached to next door neighbors before. Then, they moved away and she was heartbroken, according to her nurse, Carla and her mother. Her mother is her doctor and is very meticulous in monitoring and taking care of her daughter. Carla is pretty awesome. Not only is she Maddy’s nurse, but she’s her best friend. When Olly and Maddy start emailing and talking about meeting, Carla goes behind Maddy’s mother’s back in order for them to spend some time together face to face. I thought that was so wonderful of her, especially since Maddy’s mother is a little bit OCD when it comes to her daughter. I mean, I don’t blame her, but there comes a time when Maddy should be able to make her own decisions about her health, especially since she is 18.

3. Olly and Maddy are so cute I could die.

Olly and Maddy spend only a few minutes at a time together, but it’s enough. They IM every night until the wee hours of the morning and there is so much tension when they’re together. Even though Olly is decontaminated every time he sees Maddy, there is still no touching. They are basically in a room, talking and getting along, without being able to even sit close enough to touch each other. I can imagine how that would be the worst kind of torture. Olly is so sweet and his intelligence is on par with Maddy’s, which makes for some delightful banter between the two of them.

4. I really liked the way this story was told.

Most of the book was told through a first person narrative, but interspersed between Maddy’s narration were charts she makes, former journal entries, and IM and email conversations between she and Olly. I thought this was really creative and added so much more to the story. I felt like Maddy was a friend telling me a story instead of a narrator in a book.

5. The ending was kind of easy to call, but it took me awhile to figure it out.

I’m not telling you much about this book because trust me when I say this will be a one day read. However, the end really made me happy then surprised me, then made me SO angry then happy again. It’s an emotional roller coaster for SURE. If you think Maddy will come into her own and make decisions for herself, you’re absolutely right, but I won’t tell you much more than that.

OVERALL: 5 STARS!! I adored this book. It was fast paced and told by a wonderful narrator. The ending came out of nowhere and I loved that, since it took me awhile to figure it out. I know this review was a little short, and a little vague, but that’s all with a purpose. I want you to read this book so desperately. This book releases on September 1, 2015 so click the link below to get your copy!

Click to Order!

6 thoughts on “ARC Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

    • andistrube says:

      It takes a fantastic writer to get me to love contemporary so while predictable, I agree. Too cute and WAY too well written to ignore! Plus, THE COVER!!! *dies*

  1. Alexia says:

    I’m insanely obsessed with this book. You know I JUST finished it this afternoon and even hours later, I’m having trouble forming words about this book.I absolutely LOOOOOVED it.

    I did not expect that THING to happen so it kinda made the whole story turn on it’s head a little bit, but WOW. I love books that surprise me like this one did.

    Oh and Maddy & Olly are my OTP.

  2. missprint says:

    I’ve been hearing buzz about this book since July and I am really CURIOUS to see how it is when I finally get a chance to read it. Your review has piqued my interest even more!

Leave a Reply

