#TLCreadalong Bonus Post: Favorite Sci-Fi Novels!

Hey, guys! I love that the #TLCreadalong hosted by Brittany over at The Book Addict’s Guide is giving us these crazy topics to write on along with doing recap posts! So I’m pretty new to sci-fi – I never really thought I’d like sci-fi and I’m EXTREMELY picky when it comes to my sci-fi novels. This list will most likely be short, but full of some POWERHOUSE recommendations. *pats self on back* here we go!

  1. RPOReady Player One by Ernest Cline

THIS BOOK BLEW ME AWAY. If you like video games, alternate realities, and late 80s-early 90s pop culture, this book will take you places. I definitely agree with the people saying that it’s got some The Matrix elements and I LOVED. THIS. I originally listened to this on audiobook, and Wil Wheaton narrates. No WAY can you go wrong with that. This book is all of your nerd dreams come true. I am forever a fan of Ernest Cline, which brings us to…

2. Armada by Ernest Cline Armada

This is his second book and is JUST as awesome as RPO. This one is a tad reminiscent of another book on this list (Ender’s Game) while being its own amazing story. Video game players are unknowingly training for an imminent alien invasion. When they finally arrive, the top pilots in the game are recruited to become the military’s best pilots. So many things happen in this book and it blew me away AGAIN. Way to go, Ernest Cline, you’ve gotten me back into sci-fi.

3. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott CardEnder

While I hate Orson Scott Card for being a bigot, mysoginist, homophobe, I LOVED this book! This book is basically about a genius kid, taken from his home at the age of 6 to become an elite military fighter for an impending alien invasion. A lot of the book focuses on Ender Wiggin and the absolutely horrible things he goes through in order to achieve his goal. If you’ve seen the movie, YOU DON’T KNOW THE HALF OF IT. One of the biggest gripes I had about the movie was that they did not even come close to scratching the surface of all of the things Ender goes through while he’s away from his family. It is horribly heartbreaking. I haven’t continued the series (I refuse to buy an Orson Scott Card book, and the library NEVER has it) but eventually, I will!

4. Illuminae by Jay Kristoff and Amie KaufmanIlluminae

OH. MY. GOD. This book was absolutely insane. Told in emails, instant messages, ship transcripts, and recorded video and conversations, Illuminae takes you through the story of Katy and Ezra. The day Katy breaks up with Ezra, their planet is attacked. They are saved by a giant warship called The Alexander. Their love starts to grow again as they’re put on separate ships, but then Phobos Beta breaks out – a horrible disease in which the infected rip apart their victims. Then, there’s AIDAN, the AI in charge of keeping The Alexander afloat. All I can tell you is that this book is INSANE. Even though it was 600 pages, I breezed through it in a day. All I can say is: DON’T LOOK AT ME.

5. A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia GrayA Thousand Pieces of You

There isn’t much I can tell you here, other than that our main girl is Margeurite and her parents are BRILLIANT physicists. They have created a device named the Firebird (hence the name of the series being Firebird). This device allows the wearer to jump to an alternate dimension. However, in order to jump to that dimension, a version of YOURSELF must exist there. If an alternate version doesn’t exist, you don’t get to go. Margeurite is on a mission to find Paul, who she deems responsible for her father’s murder. Huh, I guess I did tell you a lot. Anyway, this book is amazing and Claudia Gray is a bad ass. And COME ON, that cover is GORGEOUS.

6. Cinder by Marissa MeyerCinder

Last, but CERTAINLY not least, is all of The Lunar Chronicles. These books were definitely my introduction back into sci-fi. Cinder is a retelling of Cinderella, cyborg and future style. I can’t really tell you a lot about this book, as I know you’re going to read it anyway. Just know, Meyer is amazing at creating this world and Cinder is one of my all time favorite female protagonists because she’s a BAD ASS CYBORG.

So, how’d I do? Let me know your favorite sci-fi novels in the comments below. I’m always open to new sci-fi recs! I’m super picky, but I’ll try anything once! And, come join us for the #TLCreadalong. Just click the link at the top of this post to sign up!

2 thoughts on “#TLCreadalong Bonus Post: Favorite Sci-Fi Novels!

  1. Brittany @ The Book Addict's Guider says:

    YES! Excellent choices. I LOVE Ernest Cline’s books and Wil Wheaton narrating totally brings them to life. I also LOOOOOVED Illuminae. I totally didn’t think I would but it was so awesome and it was so easy to get into too. So glad you’re enjoying some good sci-fi! I think I’m picky about it too but when I find really good sci-fi books, they’re amazing!

    • andistrube says:

      Illuminae BLEW ME AWAY! I was honestly so shocked since sci-fi isn’t really my thing most of the time. I’m a huge fantasy lover. But the more I read the more I dig it! Especially because Ernest Cline makes me yearn for more books ugh!

Leave a Reply

